Programmes for Children, Young People and Families

At YMCA Newark and Sherwood, we understand that every young person is unique.

As a charity we don’t operate to make a profit, we work closely with the local community to make sure our services and activities mean that children from all backgrounds, ages and abilities have fun together, learn together and grow together.

Developmental assets for young people

A research model constructed by YMCA Silicon Valley details the importance of 41 fundamental developmental assets needed for a child’s personal development.

This pioneering work has had a considerable impact on how we shape our programmes in Newark and the surrounding areas. Our team is dedicated to delivering three-dimensional youth services that speak to every life element needed for a child to develop within a safe and positive learning environment.

Read the full research online

Camp-Newark-happy-child

YMCA Scholarships

At YMCA Newark and Sherwood, we believe the only limit on a child’s life potential should be their imagination. That is why we offer scholarship places to ensure financial support for families who are unable to cover costs of our children’s programmes.

Sponsor a child to attend camp or find out if you qualify for a YMCA scholarship by clicking the links below.

Sponsor a Child

Apply for a Scholarship

“We equip young people with the tools needed to make good life decisions as they enter adulthood.”

Todd-Cauthorn

Todd Cauthorn, Executive Director – YMCA Newark & Sherwood

Meet the Team

Todd-Cauthorn

Todd Cauthorn

Executive Director – YMCA Newark & Sherwood

todd.cauthorn@nottsymca.org

Amy-Oakes

Amy Oakes

YMCA Sports and Family Service Manager

amy.oakes@nottsymca.org

Martyn-Gibbons

Martyn Gibbons

Camp Services Manager (YMCA Day Camps)

martyn.gibbons@nottsymca.org

Darren-Goodlad

Darren Goodlad

Youth Programmes Manager (YMCA Digital)

darren.goodlad@nottsymca.org

Gavin-Barker

Gavin Barker

Outdoor Education & Adventure Service Manager

gavin.barker@nottsymca.org

Caroline Cartwright

Marketing Manager, Newark & Sherwood

caroline.cartwright@ymcans.org

Related Articles