Programmes for Children, Young People and Families

At YMCA Newark and Sherwood, we understand that every young person is unique.

As a not-for-profit charity, our services work closely with the local community to ensure we offer a plethora of fun activities that will enable children from all backgrounds, ages and abilities to learn and grow together.

Developmental assets for young people

A research model constructed by YMCA Silicon Valley details the importance of 41 fundamental developmental assets needed for a child’s personal development.

This pioneering work has had a considerable impact on how we shape our programmes in Newark and the surrounding areas. Our team is dedicated to delivering three-dimensional youth services that speak to every life element needed for a child to develop within a safe and positive learning environment.

Read the full research online

Camp-Newark-happy-child

YMCA Scholarships

At YMCA Newark and Sherwood, we believe the only limit on a child’s life potential should be their imagination. That is why we offer scholarship places to ensure financial support for families who are unable to cover costs of our children’s programmes.

Sponsor a child to attend camp or find out if you qualify for a YMCA scholarship by clicking the links below.

Sponsor a Child

Apply for a Scholarship

“We equip young people with the tools needed to make good life decisions as they enter adulthood.”

Todd-Cauthorn

Todd Cauthorn, Operations Manager for Children, Youth and Families

Meet the Team

Todd-Cauthorn

Todd Cauthorn

Operations Manager: Children, Youth & Families

todd.cauthorn@nottsymca.org

Amy-Oakes

Amy Oakes

YMCA Sports and Family Service Manager

amy.oakes@nottsymca.org

Martyn-Gibbons

Martyn Gibbons

Camp Services Manager (YMCA Day Camps)

martyn.gibbons@nottsymca.org

Darren-Goodlad

Darren Goodlad

Youth Programmes Manager (YMCA Digital)

darren.goodlad@nottsymca.org

Gavin-Barker

Gavin Barker

Outdoor Education & Adventure Service Manager

gavin.barker@nottsymca.org

Alex-Inkley-team

Alex Inkley

Marketing and Communications Officer

alex.inkley@nottsymca.org

Related Articles